Multiple 'random header' images for different pages

Home Forums Theme Stuff Multiple 'random header' images for different pages

This topic contains 23 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Rev. Voodoo 5 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author

Andy

Hey Rev!

Firstly, I’d just like to congratulate you on this project. I’m just starting out in the world of WordPress, Themes, CSS and PHP. My main job is as an IT administrator for a school in Thailand, but I’m doing alot of work for the school as well as side projects for friends and hopefully a bit of extra cash in the future.

Anyway, I’m working on a site where the owner wants to have random ‘Hero’ images at the top of the page, but when you select certain pages it will rotate through different images.

So there will be a general ‘random_header’ for most of the pages, then a header for ‘random_phuket_header’; ‘random_samui_header’ and ‘random_pattaya_header’.

I guess I’ve got to make different functions for this in my child functions.php and then make an if then else statement or similar (sorry, my coding experience really only stretches to making unix and shell scripts and writing Java applets in the late 90s).

Any help on this would be appreciated – keep up the good work!

Cheers,

Andy

Rev. Voodoo
    Keymaster

So, I’m trying to approach this as simply as possible…. which leads me to this rotation script from ma.tt

Random Image Script

On first glance, I would think that everything could be used as is…. I just think we would need to conditionalize the path.
    So for instance if page 1, path to folder 1, if page 2, path to folder 2, else, … path is blank… so it looks in the current directory for images to display….

Andy

Thanks Rev!

I’ll take a look at this over the next day or so and see what I can make of it.