RSS icons in 2011 Theme

Home Forums Theme Stuff RSS icons in 2011 Theme

Tagged: 

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Rev. Voodoo 5 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Steve

Has anyone managed to add RSS feeds into the Twenty Eleven theme ? I found an article on how to do it for the 2010 theme (http://digitalraindrops.net/2010/11/add-rss-icons-to-twenty-ten/) but am struggling to extend that for the 2011 theme.

Any ideas?

Rev. Voodoo
    Keymaster

What have you tried so far? My first attempt would involve putting the get_template_part from the tut right after the get_search_form in 2011’s header.php.

Steve

Hi thanks for the reply. All I’ve been doing so far is pretty much getting in a mess mainly because I’m not experienced enough in either how the WP template structure works or PHP coding but I’m learning with both and this is a good way to do it I think. I’ll try the line you suggest and see where it leads me. I also found a reasonable plugin but it limits me to only having the links that the plugin provides and restricts me to where it can go – sidebar or footer. I like the idea of understanding what I’m doing sufficiently well to do what I want – wishful thinking maybe.

I’ll post back here with the result

Steve

Hi – just thought I’d follow up on this. The plugin was fine but didn’t teach me much 8-O.
    I followed your suggestion a bit by playing around in the header.php file of my child theme and added some HTML and CSS to get the result I wanted. It seems to be working fine and was a good exercise for someone new to WP – still trying to get my head around how it all hangs together. Thanks for the initial steer.

Rev. Voodoo
    Keymaster